A year on.. my best work so far

Well, I can hardly believe it’s been (almost!) a year since I took the plunge last September and jacked in my 9-5 job to pursue floristry full time. The course is now over, I have achieved a merit for my City & Guilds level 2 Floristry diploma and been undertaking work experience placements part-time at both Honor Oak Florist and Bartley Flowers, as well as continuing with my cafe job.

The course had its ups and downs, but I really enjoyed it overall and despite having quite limited materials to work with, I’m really proud of some of the work I did there, especially the shop window displays and some of the last designs completed as part of the final unit on events. I also thoroughly enjoyed my time at Jam Jar Flowers in December, where I got to do lots of fun Christmas work as well as a beautiful wedding and church decorations for Carol Concert.  It’s a daunting prospect starting a new career, but these last months have really reinforced my belief that this is something I’m going to thoroughly enjoy. So here I just wanted to put together a little gallery of my ‘best bits’ so far… Enjoy!

I would also like to thank all those who have helped me along the way, so thank you to our tutor Konomi at Southwark College (now LeSoCo), Melissa at Jam Jar, Lisa at Honor Oak and Stewart & Emma at Bartleys. And last but not least, thanks to all my fellow students from the course who made it such a fun year, you know who you are! :0)

4 thoughts on “A year on.. my best work so far

  1. Well done Sarah – unbelievably brave to take such a big step and make a change in order to pursue something you’re passionate about and clearly talented in. Go you!

Leave a Reply

